3 Presbyterian Churches Leave Denomination


Three Indiana Presbyterian churches have gained permission to leave the Presbyterian Church (USA) and join with the more conservative Evangelical Presbyterian Church.

The three congregations are Covenant Presbyterian Church in West Lafayette, First Presbyterian Church in Frankfort and First Presbyterian Church of Nappanee.

The congregations disagreed with the larger church’s movement toward a more liberal view of sexuality. Presbyteries across the country are examining the possibility of ordaining gay and lesbian clergy. The denomination might remove a section from its constitution that reserves ministry for those who practice sex within the context of marriage and abstain in singleness.

The source article did not address property implications for the three congregations.


The Christian Post: 3 Presbyterian Churches Dismissed from Denomination

Related Content:

Charlotte-Area Presbyterian Churches Drop Gay Pastor Ban

Church Pays $1.75M to Former Denomination to Keep Building

Share this article: Email,
Slashdot, Digg,
Del.icio.us, Yahoo!MyWeb,
Windows Live Favorites,
Add this article feed to: RSS, My Yahoo, Newsgator, Bloglines